Pulled Over For Drunk Driving?
A noncommercial driver who has a blood alcohol level of .08% or more is considered legally intoxicated. However, Oregon law also allows a conviction for DUI if a prosecutor can show that the driver was affected to some perceptible degree by alcohol or drugs. It can be difficult to defend against these charges without the assistance of a skilled criminal defense lawyer on your side. Protect your rights by contacting Wm. Bruce Shepley, Attorney at Law, today.
Penalties for DUI in Oregon
DUI is considered a Class A misdemeanor unless the defendant has been convicted of the offense three or more times within 10 years from the date of the third offense. In that situation, the crime is considered a Class C felony. Penalties for Class A misdemeanors include up to one year in jail, a fine up to $6,250 or both. Class C felonies are punishable by up to five years in prison, a fine of up to $125,000 or both.
Additionally, suspensions and revocations of driving privileges range from 90 days up to and including lifetime revocations.
Oregon DUI Assault Charge
If convicted of other DUI crimes such as vehicular assault or hit-and-run, a driver may also face a suspension or revocation of his driving privilege.
If you injured someone when you are under the influence of alcohol or other intoxicants, you will face collateral assault charges along with the DUI. In the case of Assault II that would put you in Ballot Measure 11, which requires mandatory prison terms. At some point, refer to these charges as a Measure 11 DUI even DUI per se is not a Measure 11 crime.
The three categories of assault charge you might look onto are:
- Assault IV
- Assault III
- Assault II
Get Representation That Understands The Stakes
Call Wm. Bruce Shepley, Attorney at Law, in Oregon City at 503-683-3967 or contact us online to schedule your criminal defense consultation.