What are the penalties for drunk driving in Oregon?
  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Uncategorized
  4.  » What are the penalties for drunk driving in Oregon?

What are the penalties for drunk driving in Oregon?

On Behalf of | Nov 2, 2021 | Uncategorized |

Drunk driving charges can result in serious penalties for accused drivers who should understand what they are facing and how to defend themselves against DUI charges. Knowing about the possible penalties and how to build a strong criminal defense strategy can help accused drivers protect themselves from drunk driving charges.

Penalties for drunk driving charges

Driving under the influence (DUI) is considered a misdemeanor criminal charge in Oregon unless the accused driver has been convicted of a DUI offense three or more times within a 10-year period prior to the third offense. If the accused driver has been convicted of a DUI charge three or more time in a 10-year period, the DUI charge will be considered a Class C felony. Penalties for a Class A misdemeanor DUI charge range from up to a year in jail or a fine of up to $6,250 or both. A class C felony DUI charge can be punished by up to five years in prison or a fine up to $125,000 or both.

The potential penalties and consequences associated with drunk driving charges can increase as the charges increase. Suspensions and revocation of driving privileges ranging from a 90-day suspension up to a lifetime revocation are also possible. The possible penalties and consequences for drunk driving charges can be stiff.

There are a variety of ways accused individuals can defend themselves against DUI charges ranging from challenging the actions of authorities to the validity of blood, alcohol or field sobriety tests. The legality of the stop itself may also be questioned. For that reason, accused drivers should be familiar with how they can challenge DUI charges when so much is on the line.